Architecture Prize

DETAIL Prize 2011

The architectural magazine DETAIL, in collaboration with the BAU 2011 tradeshow, partners from the construction industry and the conceptual partners Bavarian Chamber of Architects and the Architectural Society of China will present the DETAIL Prize 2011 “aesthetics and construction“. Prizes will be awarded to buildings that feature especially well-designed, groundbreaking and technically innovative details with an outstanding overall design.

Competition task

The award will focus on the innovative details which play a crucial part in an outstanding overall design. It is not just about solving technical problems, but about the role of the details as essentially defining the whole. An innovative detail can alter the perception of a whole design and simultaneously reflect an entire design concept by itself.

Each material has its own special characteristics. These characteristics determine their construction, aesthetics and ultimately their detailed design. Therefore, in addition to the main DETAIL Prize 2011, which does not focus on any single material, there are Special Prizes in the categories Glass and Steel, as well as Special Prizes for Interior Design and Green Architecture independent of the material used. The Special Prize for Students rounds off the range of prizes, which are geared to architects.


DETAIL Prize 2011
DETAIL Honorary Prize 2011
both sponsored by the BAU Tradeshow

Material awards:
Special Prize for Glass sponsored by OKALUX
Special Prize for Steel sponsored by JOSEF GARTNER

Prizes independent of the material used:
Special Prize for Interior Design sponsored by DORMA
Special Prize for Green Architecture sponsored by SIEGENIA-AUBI
Special Prize for Students sponsored by STO-STIFTUNG

Prize money

Total prize money of € 20,000 will be awarded.
At the jury meeting, the jury will decide on how the money is to be distributed.


An international jury will nominate three projects in each category. The prizewinners will be announced at the DETAIL Gala 2011, the glamorous awards ceremony at which the DETAIL Prize is presented.

Mauro Gil-Fournier Esquerra, Estudio SIC, Madrid, ES
Prof. Harry Gugger, Harry Gugger Studio, Basel, CH
André Kempe, Atelier Kempe Thill, Rotterdam, NL
Prof. Regine Leibinger, Barkow Leibinger Architects, Berlin, DE
Christian Schittich, Editor-in-chief DETAIL, Munich, DE

Awards ceremony at DETAIL Gala 2011

The prizes will be awarded at a gala event taking placing during the BAU 2011 tradeshow on January 19, 2011 in Munich. All of the nominated works will be shown in two parallel exhibitions, at the BAU tradeshow and within the framework of the awards ceremony.
Please enter your email address below to receive a password reset link.
Mandatory fields
Copyright © 2024 DETAIL. All rights reserved.