07.02.2013 Florian Maier

Five Finalists for Mies van der Rohe Award 2013

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the five finalists who will compete for the 2013 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award. In total, 335 works in 37 European countries were nominated for the award. An expert jury drew up the final shortlist.
House for Elderly People, Alcácer do Sal, Portugal
Aires Mateus Arquitectos
Metropol Parasol, Seville, Spain
Jürgen Mayer H.
Harpa - Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre, Reykjavik, Iceland
Batteríid Architects, Henning Larsen Architects, Studio Olafur Eliasson
Superkilen (inter-cultural city park), Copenhagen, Denmark
BIG Bjarke Ingels Group, Topotek1, Superflex
City Hall, Ghent, Belgium
Robbrecht en Daem architecten, Marie-José Van Hee architecten
The jury members
  • Wiel Arets, Chair of the jury/Wiel Arets Architects, Maastricht
  • Pedro Gadanho, Curator of Contemporary Architecture, Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York
  • Antón García-Abril, Ensamble Studio, Madrid
  • Louisa Hutton, Sauerbruch Hutton Architects, Berlin
  • Kent Martinussen, CEO, The Danish Architecture Center (DAC), Copenhagen
  • Frédéric Migaryou, Director, Architecture & Design, Centre Pompidou, Paris
  • Ewa Porebska Editor-in-Chief, Architektura-murator, Warsaw
  • Giovanna Carnevali, Secretary of the Jury/Director, Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Barcelona
The overall winner of the Prize, as well as the 'special mention' award for best emerging architect, will be announced in May, with an award ceremony on 6 June 2013 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award highlights the contribution of European architects to the development of new ideas and technologies in contemporary urban development. Launched in 1987 and co-funded by the EU Culture Programme and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, the Euro 60,000 prize is the most prestigious in European architecture. It is awarded every other year for a work completed within the previous two years. This year’s ceremony is the 13th to take place since its launch. Further information
Please enter your email address below to receive a password reset link.
Mandatory fields
Copyright © 2024 DETAIL. All rights reserved.